• Q: Where is Bamberg located?
    • A: Bamberg is a town in southern Germany, in the Franconian region of Bavaria. It was first written about in 902.
  • Q: What historical significance does Bamberg hold?
    • A: The Holy Roman Emperor, Heinrich II, and his wife Kunigunde, established Bamberg as a separate diocese in 1007, and for a brief time, it was the power seat of the Empire.
  • Q: Why is Bamberg compared to Rome?
    • A: Like Rome, Bamberg is set on seven hills, each with a church atop it.
  • Q: What is unique about Bamberg’s town center?
    • A: The center of the town is set on an island, created by the splitting of the Regnitz river.
  • Q: How did Bamberg preserve its medieval character?
    • A: The town escaped the blitz bombing of the Second World War; consequently, much of its Medieval character remains intact.
  • Q: When was Bamberg recognized as a UNESCO World Heritage Site?
    • A: Parts of Bamberg were declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1993.

This post may include affiliate links. Click here for Affiliate Disclosure.

1. The Old Town Hall (Altes Rathaus)


Admire river-spanning architecture and explore unusual sights on a quick historic trip.

The Old Town Hall (Altes Rathaus)

© LianeM/stock.adobe.com

Legend has it that the bishop of Bamberg refused to allocate land for the residents to build a town hall so they drove stakes into the Regnitz river to create an artificial island and erected the building there. When it was built in the 14th century, the architectural style was Gothic.

Changes in the 1700s added Baroque and Rococo touches. Large frescoes adorn some of the multi-story walls, with elements of 3D sculptures protruding from them. The Old Town Hall (Altes Rathaus) is accessible by two pedestrian bridges, one from each river bank. The Ludwig collection is housed there.

The Old Town Hall (Altes Rathaus) , Obere Brücke, 96047 Bamberg, Phone: +49-95-12-97-62-00

2. Cathedral of St Peter and St George


See towering spires and discover sacred art on an easy cultural outing.

Cathedral of St Peter and St George

© Takashi Images/stock.adobe.com

The Cathedral land was consecrated in 1012 but the current structure was built in the mid 13th century, after the first two cathedrals burnt down. The Romanesque and Gothic styles reflect the length of time it took to rebuild the cathedral.

It is still a Roman Catholic Church and the seat of the Bishop of Bamberg. The Cathedral of St Peter and St George is named after St George, representing the Holy Roman Empire, and St Peter, representing the Pope. The tombs of Heinrich II and his Empress, Kunigunde, are beautifully carved. The Bamberg Horseman statue is also in the cathedral. The Diocesan museum and shop are on the premises.

Cathedral of St Peter and St George, Domplatz 2, 96049 Bamberg, Phone: 09-5-15-02-25-12

3. The New Residence


Walk grand halls and look at baroque treasures on a romantic weekend visit.

The New Residence

© LianeM/stock.adobe.com

The New Residence of the prince bishops of Bamberg was completed in two stages. The initial structure was completed in 1604 and two additional Renaissance-style wings were added, circa 1700. There are more than 40 state rooms and the interior is decorated with frescoes and chandeliers.

Furniture and fittings date back to the 16th and 17th centuries. The Emperor Hall is home to 16 larger-than-life portraits of emperors through the ages. It is situated on the cathedral square and houses the state library and the state gallery. It is open all year but times change with the seasons. Guided tours operate throughout the day.

The New Residence, Domplatz 8, 96049 Bamberg, Phone: 09-51-51-93-90

4. Schloss Seehof Restaurant Cafe


Savor local dishes and admire garden views during a relaxing summer meal.

Schloss Seehof Restaurant Cafe

© Edler von Rabenstein/stock.adobe.com

The Schloss Seehof was built in the late 1600 as the summer residence of the prince bishops of Bamberg. The cascading water feature in the castle grounds incorporates several Romanesque statues. The castle park is 21 ha which includes an orange plantation. The Schloss Seehof Restaurant Cafe uses the fruit to make marmalade.

The orangerie was used to help young plants through the winter and is now available for hire for private functions. German cuisine is the order of the day. Groups need to book ahead and are served a set menu. The restaurant is closed on Mondays and between Christmas and mid-January.

Schloss Seehof Restaurant Cafe, Schloss Seehof 14, 96117 Memmelsdorf, Bavaria, Phone: +49-95-14-07-16-40

5. Altenburg


Climb to panoramic views and explore medieval charm on an exciting fall hike.

Altenburg

© fotovarvara/stock.adobe.com

On the highest of Bamberg's seven hills, sits Altenburg Castle. It was built before 1109 as a place of refuge for townsfolk if danger threatened. It was used as the residence for Bamberg's bishops from 1305 to 1553, when it was burnt down during a war. It remained derelict until 1801 when a local physician bought it and set about restoring it. In 1818, it was handed to the Altenburg Society, the current custodian. The castle is open for tours and visitors can climb the tower. There is a restaurant on the premises and the Knights' Hall is available for hire for private functions.

AltenburgPhone: 0-95-15-68-28

6. Schlenkerla - Smoked Beer Brewery


Taste smoky brews and enjoy an unusual, affordable experience in Bamberg's Old Town.

Schlenkerla - Smoked Beer Brewery

© Schlenkerla – Smoked Beer Brewery

The brewery predates 1405 when it was first mentioned by name as the 'House of the Blue Lion'. Through the centuries, coopers and brewers have occupied the premises. Barrels and beer are often found together. Since 1866, the business has been in the Trum family. Currently, the sixth generation is in charge. The beer at Schlenkerla - Smoked Beer Brewery is made according tradition, begun when long winters necessitated drying the grains for the beers over an open fire. The brewery is open year round but the beer garden is open from Easter to October only, weather permitting. Brunch and hot meals are served and there is a shop selling beer and memorabilia.

Schlenkerla - Smoked Beer Brewery, Dominikanerstraße 6 - 96049 Bamberg, Phone: +49-95-15-60-60

7. Franconian Brewery Museum


Discover brewing history and look at rare tools on an easy educational trip.

Franconian Brewery Museum

© Franconian Brewery Museum

The Franconian Brewery Museum is situated in the vaults of the former Benedictine monastery brewery which was first mentioned in 1122. It was established in 1979 and seeks to preserve and promote the beer culture of the region. There are 1850 exhibits over five levels. The entire beer making process is explained from sourcing ingredients to bottling and drinking it. Among the exhibits is an extensive collection of beer mugs. Tours, tastings, presentations and seminars are conducted on the premises. There are regular events and outings for members. The museum is open from April to October but closed on Mondays and Tuesdays.

Franconian Brewery Museum, Michaelsberg 10f, 96049 Bamberg, Phone: +49-95-15-30-16

8. Little Venice


Stroll along riverside homes and admire romantic sights on a spring getaway.

Little Venice

© rudiernst/stock.adobe.com

The consensus among visitors seems to be that this row of fishermen's cottages on the east bank of the Regnitz River does not look like Venice. The half-timber houses, built in the 15th and 16th centuries are all different and distinctly German. They are cantilevered over the river bank and are accessible by boat. The illusion continues however with gondolas-for-hire floating by at Little Venice, a good vantage point from which to view the houses. In spring and summer the balcony gardens blossom and swans, geese and ducks swim in the river, adding to the photogenic scene. There are apartments for hire within the houses.

Little Venice, Klein Venedig, Am Leinritt, 96047 Bamberg

9. Market Gardeners's District


Explore charming gardens and see traditional farming life on a quiet summer walk.

Market Gardeners's District

© whyframeshot/stock.adobe.com

For centuries there has been urban market gardening on the fertile alluvial soil in Bamberg. Famously known as 'onion treaders', the area is renowned for its onion sets and liquorice. Many varieties of vegetables are grown today and sold daily at the market or at the farm gate. A route has been laid out through the district which takes visitors past the cottages, through the allotments and to the museum. A small house and garden have been preserved in the Market Gardeners's District to demonstrate what life and work was like for the market gardeners, without modern conveniences. Since 2013, the Bamberg Heritage Garden has been reintroducing local vegetable varieties from heirloom seeds.

Gundelsheimer Str. 51, 96052 Bamberg

10. Old Courtyard


Visit a peaceful square and enjoy classic architecture on a quick sightseeing stop.

Old Courtyard

© rudiernst/stock.adobe.com

The Old Courtyard was the 'old' residence of the bishops of Bamberg. Buildings have been on the site since the 11th century. The current Renaissance-style structure is the third on the site and was erected in the 15th century, alongside the cathedral. The chapel and the palas are still evident. There are picturesque dwellings in the Old Courtyard which are festooned with flowers blooming on their balconies in season. The historical Bamberg museum is in the complex. The history of the Jewish people in Bamberg is told there. There are other hands-on programs in the museum and events such as birthday parties are catered for.

Alte Hofhaltung, Domplatz 96049 Bamberg, Phone: +49-9-51-87-11-42

Plan Your Trip


Table of Contents: