Historic Seguin Island Lighthouse is located on picturesque Seguin Island at the mouth of the Main’s Kennebec River. The original lighthouse was built in 1795, and the existing cylindrical lighthouse was constructed of granite blocks in 1857.
Originally, the lighthouse used kerosene Incandescent Oil Vapor lamp, which was replaced with a 282 prism Fresnel lens together with a 1,000-watt high-powered electrical bulb. The light can be seen for more than 20 nautical miles. It is the only First Order Fresnel lens still used in Maine. Seguin Light is registered on the National Register of Historic Places and is open to the public.
Friends of Seguin Island Light Station, 72 Front Street, Suite 3, Bath, Maine 04530, website, Phone: 207-443-4808
The 10th best Maine lighthouse: Egg Rock Light in Bar Harbor, Maine.
Attractions & points of interest:
Virginia Beach, Chattanooga, Fort Lauderdale, Couples' Weekend, West Coast
"10 Best Maine Lighthouses & Free Things to Do on a Rainy Day" Back to Top