Monzie Estate boasts a rich history and heritage that reflects the ancient culture of Scotland. In the 17th century, the little village of Monzie (which translates to ‘field of corn’ in Gaelic) had a population of 200 people, boasted two schools and five pubs, and was renowned for its weaving industry. Monzie Castle was built in 1634 by James Graham, who was later killed in the Civil War, after which the castle was taken over by the Campbell family, kinsmen of the Breadalbane Clan, who built the Taymouth Castle a few miles away in the next valley.
Captain Alexander Campbell of Monzie commissioned architect John Patterson, previously clerk of works to the celebrated Robert Adam, to build onto the castle in 1975 with the intention of making it one of the largest houses in the region. When it was completed, the castle was said to have dwarfed all other buildings and the valley and to have contained vast collections of armor and stuffed birds.
In 1856, Monzie Castle was purchased by ancestors of the previous owners and let to the Crichton family, the most notable member of whom was Sir William Crichton, who was Lord Chancellor of Scotland between 1434 and 1454.
In 1908, the castle was destroyed by a severe fire leaving only the outside walls remaining and the leading Scottish architect of the day, Sir Robert Lorimer was tasked to restore the castle. Scottish architect Sir Robert Stodart Lorimer was famous for his sensitive restorations of castles and historic houses, as well as his promotion of the Arts and Crafts movement. His affinity with Edinburgh craftsmen and workshops is reflected in his works, which is on display as part of a harmonious piece of design.
Today, the older parts of the castle are almost entirely unaltered externally, with the date 1634 carved into stone over a doorway of the wing and the arms of the Campbell and Graham families carved on the date stone. The interiors boast an impressive fireplace, also dating back to 1634, which features a massive lintel inscribed with swags and a coat of arms, and garderobes built into the thickness of the walls in the west wing.
The more recently built sections of the castle built by architect John Patterson, are three stories high with a four-story center block and 34 corner towers with rich plasterwork, carved paneling, and a pair of marble fireplaces on the inside.
Castle tours are offered during certain weeks in June, by appointment.
Monzie Estate makes an excellent filming location - for availability and pricing, contact the property.