Almost everyone loves to shop. Shopping allows us to take the money we’ve worked to earn and use it to make ourselves happy or even improve our lives, and it can actually be quite relaxing and even therapeutic to spend a few hours or a full day in a mall or shopping location, searching for new clothes, accessories, home products, tools, sporting goods, and many other items. Those good feelings will be enhanced even further if you happen to find some super low prices, and outlet malls tend to offer the very best deals of all. CDC information for travelers. Hours/availability may have changed.
2.Woodburn Premium Outlets
3.Columbia Gorge Outlets
4.Bend Factory Outlet Stores
5.Lincoln City Outlets
Best Outlet Malls in Oregon
- Overview, Photo: makistock/stock.adobe.com
- Woodburn Premium Outlets, Photo: Kzenon/stock.adobe.com
- Columbia Gorge Outlets, Photo: pressmaster/stock.adobe.com
- Bend Factory Outlet Stores, Photo: beeboys/stock.adobe.com
- Lincoln City Outlets, Photo: ChenPG/stock.adobe.com
- Cover Photo: Courtesy of Kittiphan - Fotolia.com
More Ideas: John Day Fossil Beds National Monument
Located throughout Wheeler and Grant Counties in eastern central Oregon, the John Day Fossil Beds National Monument preserves a 13,944-acre region of shrubland, badland, and riparian zone geology containing a large number of fossilized animal and plant remains. The area that now comprises the John Day Fossil Beds National Monument is located within the Blue Mountains region, which originated geologically during the late Jurassic Period, approximately 118 million years ago.
Tectonic plate movement throughout the late Jurassic and early Cretaceous periods led to the uplift of Permian and Triassic rock and the creation of the Blue Mountains, which shifted the shoreline of the Pacific Ocean from the Idaho region to its modern-day borders. Volcanic eruptions throughout the Eocene period 44 million years ago contributed to the development of the Clarno Formation, which contains a variety of animal and plant fossils, including the fossils of avocado trees and subtropical nuts from former warm climates. Following the subsiding of the Clarno volcanoes, eruptions throughout what is now the modern-day Cascade Range, known as the John Day volcanoes, produced a large volume of ash and dust that settled throughout what is now the John Day River basin. Large numbers of animal and plant specimens were captured in this area, including more than 100 prehistoric mammal species and 60 plant species. Further eruptions throughout the Miocene Period added fossils such as cool-climate oak, sycamore, and maple trees and the earliest records of beavers on the North American continent.
Like many geological sites throughout the area, the John Day Fossil Beds region is named for explorer John Day, a Pacific Fur Company explorer who traveled the eastern Oregon region in 1811 and 1812. The fossil beds site has been a principal research site for North American paleontologists and geologists since the Oregon gold rush of the mid-19th century, due to the area’s unique rock structure and abundant fossil records. Efforts to preserve the region as a historic site date back to the turn of the 20th century, spearheaded by scientist John C. Merriam, and throughout the 1930s, much of the land for the future National Monument was purchased by the State of Oregon. In 1974, the creation of a National Monument was authorized by the United States Congress, and on October 8, 1975, the monument was officially established.
Today, the John Day Fossil Beds National Monument preserve three geographic regions within the John Day Fossil Beds area, located on 13,944 acres within eastern Oregon’s Wheeler and Grant Counties. More than 40 million years of geologic and biologic history are showcased throughout the region, with fossil specimens spanning most of the era of the Age of Mammals. As a research facility, discoveries within the Fossil Beds have provided important information on the study of evolution and offered major insight into the field of paleoclimatology.
Ongoing research by paleontologists is conducted at more than 700 sites throughout the area, with fossil specimens collected, stabilized, cleaned, and catalogued at the laboratory at the facility’.Thomas Condon Paleontology Center, opened in 2005. A variety of fossils are displayed as part of the Visitor Center’s public exhibits, along with dioramas and murals depicting the region’s biodiversity throughout eight geologic eras. Visitors may also view ongoing work at the paleontology laboratory directly from the Center.
Visitors may explore the park’s three units via a variety of vehicle and hiking trails, including the Clarno Unit, located 18 miles from the city of Fossil, Oregon, which contains a large number of remains dating back to the region’s former tropical climate. The Painted Hills Unit, near Mitchell, Oregon, offers a glimpse at leaf fossils dating back 39 million years and showcases wildflower blooms throughout the spring season. Most park trails are located within the unit, varying in length between 0.25 miles and 1.6 miles. The Sheep Rock Unit, located off of Highway 19 near Kimberly and Dayville, Oregon, is the home of the histori.Cant Ranch, the former home of Scottish immigrants James and Elizabeth Cant, which is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and preserved as a living history museum.
Ongoing Programs and Education
A variety of field trip educational programming is offered for elementary and secondary school students at the monument, including programs focusing on volcanoes, paleontology, and animal evolution. Ranger-led hikes and customized programming is available upon request, and a Teacher-Ranger-Teacher program offers professional development opportunities for area instructors, allowing participants to gain continuing education credits and receive stipends for advancement of in-classroom science and history teaching. A Junior Ranger program also offers badges for young visitors in exchange for completion of a variety of in-park activities.
32651 OR-19, Kimberly, OR 97848, Phone: 541-987-2333
You are reading "Best Outlet Malls in Oregon " Back to Top
More Ideas: Oregon Caves National Monument and Preserve
Located in southwestern Oregon’s Siskiyou Mountain range, Oregon Caves National Monument and Preserve protects more than 4,500 acres of natural wilderness areas, including a solutional marble cave with 15,000 feet of passages. The namesake cave of Oregon Caves National Monument and Preserve was formed in parent rock that developed approximately 190 million years ago from the movement of tectonic plates underneath the Pacific Ocean, which pressurized limestone into marble and pushed it to a height of 4,000 feet above sea level.
Groundwater eventually seeped into the marble, expanding small cracks into large, cavernous tunnels. Sediment dating within the cave dates its creation back between one and several million years ago. Today, the cave’s marble block measures approximately 1,080 feet long, 490 feet wide, and 390 feet high and contains more than 15,000 feet of natural tunnel passages.
Human habitation of the Siskiyou Mountain region dates back at least 8,500 years to the days of nomadic hunter-gatherers within the Rogue River area, and by the time of the arrival of Europeans in North America, permanent indigenous villages had been established in the region for at least 1,500 years, though there is no indication that indigenous tribes used the marble cave. The region was first populated by European settlers following the discovery of gold by prospectors in 1851 and the formation of Jackson County the next year. In 1874, the marble cave was discovered by area resident Elijah Davidson, and over the course of the next several decades, endeavors were undertaken to develop the cave as a private tourist attraction, resulting in damages to the site.
Federal regulation of public lands in the 1890s led to the 1903 creation of the Siskiyou National Forest, and in 1909, Oregon Caves National Monument was established to ensure future protection of the cave and its surrounding natural region. The monument was put under the care of the United States Forest Service and opened for public ranger-led tours in 1910. The increasing popularity of automobile travel and paved highway systems throughout the mid-20th century led to increased tourism to the monument, which was put under the care of the National Park Service in 1933. In 2014, the monument was redesignated as a National Monument and Preserve and its land area was expanded by more than 4,000 acres of surrounding forest and wilderness that were formerly part of the Rogue River-Siskiyou National Forest. The cave’s creek was also renamed in honor of the mythological River Styx and added to the National Wild and Scenic Rivers System.
Attractions and Tours
Today, the Oregon Caves National Monument and Preserve is operated by the National Park Service and spans 4,554 acres in southwestern Josephine County within the Siskiyou Mountain range, near the border of Oregon and California. The marble cave is located approximately 20 miles east of the city of Cave Junction, accessible via Oregon Route 46 and United States Route 199. Along with caves in Kings Canyon and Great Basin National Parks, the cave is one of the few marble caves of the over 3,900 caves administered by National Park Service facilities.
The park is comprised of areas of forest, subalpine meadow, mountain, and creek ecosystems, with elevations ranging between 3,680 and 5,480 feet within the the monument and reaching heights of up to 6,390 feet at the summit of Mount Elijah within the preserve area. Year-round climate is generally temperate, with average temperatures within the cave remaining at approximately seven degrees Celsius (44 degrees Fahrenheit) annually. The region is known for its high biodiversity, which includes more than 391 vascular plant species, along with trees such as Douglas and white fir, oak, and alder trees. Notable plants within the park include Big Tree, believed to be the widest Douglas fir specimen in the state. Animal species residing in the park include a wide variety of mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians, and insects, including the at-risk northern spotted owl, Siskiyou gazelle beetle, Pacific fisher, and five protected types of bat species.
Guided tours of the marble cave are offered between April and early November, embarking from the Illinois Valley Visitor Center. Cave tickets are available for advance purchase on the park’s website, with a limited number of first-come first-served tickets available at the park daily. Several tour packages are offered, including a 90-minute Discovery Cave Tour. Tour participants should be aware that navigation of steep and uneven stairs is included in cave exploration, and children under 42 inches tall must complete a test stair climb before being allowed within the cave. All participants are advised to wear warm clothing and secure walking shoes and must not bring clothing or equipment into caves that has previously been brought into other caves, in order to adhere to regulations regarding bat white noise syndrome.
Other activities at the park include hiking trails and opportunities for photography and wildlife watching. Lodging within the park is provided at the Oregon Caves Chateau, a six-story historic hotel constructed in 1934 that offers 23 visitor rooms. A restaurant, coffee shop, and delicatessen are offered for park visitors within the hotel. Picnic table sites are also provided throughout the park, and a number of local restaurants are available in nearby Cave Junction. Camping is offered at the nearby USFS-maintained Cave Creek Campground, along with a number of private campground sites.
19000 Caves Hwy, Cave Junction, OR 97523, Phone: 541-592-2100
You are reading "Best Outlet Malls in Oregon " Back to Top
More Ideas: Rice Northwest Museum of Rocks and Minerals, Hillsboro
Located just outside Portland in the city of Hillsboro, Oregon, the Rice Northwest Museum of Rocks and Minerals is home to the largest collection of gems, petrified wood, meteorites, and fossils in the Pacific Northwest.
The museum is housed inside the former home of its founders, Richard and Helen Rice. The couple, who married in 1932, were avid collectors and mineral enthusiasts and winners of the Woodruff Trophy, a prominent award for rock collecting. Helen, who was president of the American Federation of Mineralogical Societies from 1959 to 1960, is credited with helping the federation achieve its nonprofit status. Starting with a small sample of agate rocks found along the Oregon Coast in 1938, the pair collected and studied rocks, fossil, and gems. In 1952, Richard constructed a ranch-style home for the couple, featuring unique architectural and interior design elements and displaying pieces of their mineral collection.
The Rices founded a private museum in 1953 to display their growing home collection. In the 1950s and 1960s, the Rices established the Tualatin Valley Gem Club along with several friends and fellow enthusiasts. The Gem Club was instrumental in the early days of the museum. Throughout the next several decades, the Rices hosted free classes, lectures, and other activities at the museum site as they continued to grow their award-winning collection.
When the couple passed away in 1997, care of their home and collection were passed to the nonprofit. Later that year, the museum site, named the Rice Northwest Museum of Rocks and Minerals, opened to the public. The Rice Museum is still housed inside Richard's original house, and all rooms have now been converted into dedicated galleries. The home was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2006, and in 2015 the museum became a Smithsonian affiliate.
The museum is regarded as having the most comprehensive collection of rock and mineral specimens in the Pacific Northwest. More than 25,000 annual visitors explore its 10 galleries, often in conjunction with its school tour program. It sits on a 23-acre plot of wooded land, encompassing two buildings with 7,500 feet of exhibit space. The former Rice home serves as the primary exhibit building, with a second exhibit building located in the gardens that was the former location of Richard's woodshop. The home's garage area now serves as the museum's gift shop.
Most of the museum's galleries are housed in the main building. The Main Gallery is home to over 4,000 gems, crystals, and unusual minerals from all over the world, including the Alma Rose rhodochrosite, a rare red crystal found in Colorado. The Dennis and Mary Murphy Petrified Wood Gallery is one the largest collections of petrified wood in the nation, featuring an educational audio exhibit detailing the petrification process. A meteorite display houses a variety of meteorites, centering on the iron-filled Gibeon meteorite, found in Africa. The Fluorescent Exhibit Room is commonly referred to as the "Rainbow Room," referencing the array of colors displayed when its minerals are energized with fluorescent ultraviolet light.
The Fossil Gallery is home to dinosaur eggs, mammoth tusks, a baby psittacosaurus skeleton, and many other prehistoric specimens. In the Lapidary Arts Gallery, polished wood carvings and gems from around the world are displayed. The Agate Gallery includes a display detailing how to tell the difference between a naturally colored agate and a dyed agate, and the Mineralogy Gallery focuses on the reproduction and uses of minerals with interactive educational displays. The Fred Van Sant Faceting Display features the work of renowned gem faceter Fred Sant Van, displaying his original faceting machine.
Outside the main building, housed inside the former workshop, is the Northwest Mineral Gallery. The gallery focuses on the mineral heritage of the Pacific Northwest, featuring a large collection of thundereggs, the state rock of Oregon, including the largest opal-filled thunderegg in the world. The museum's large outdoor grounds are also available for visitors to explore, with several gardens, rock walls, winding paths, forests, and lawns. A large rock pile located on the grounds provides an opportunity for visitors to discover and take home their own rock specimens.
Ongoing Programs and Education
The museum hosts a yearly summer festival, featuring a variety of demonstrations and bringing in music, food, and rock clubs from around the country. A Thunder-Egg-Stravaganza celebrates the state rock in April, and a Mystery Mineral Day celebration in February allows participants to bring their own rock samples to be identified by experts. Throughout the year, a series of all-ages programs and workshops are presented on geology, mineralogy, faceting, and geohazards. The museum is dedicated to supporting local rock clubs with programming, meeting space, and education, and offers school tours for local students as well as a portable earth science program, available to all schools within a 3-hour radius.
26385 NW Groveland Drive, Hillsboro, OR 97124, Phone: 503-647-2418
You are reading "Best Outlet Malls in Oregon " Back to Top