The Delaware River is one of the largest and longest rivers on the eastern side of the United States. Flowing through five separate states in total (New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Maryland and Delaware) and measuring up at 419 miles in length, the river culminates in Delaware Bay and flows into the Atlantic Ocean. Along its route, the river passes by various major cities as well as countless beautiful natural landscapes. It's classed among America's "Great Waters" is a must-visit location for any nature or outdoor enthusiasts in the Atlantic coast area. CDC information for travelers. Hours/availability may have changed.
2.Kayak Tours and Rentals on the Delaware River
3.More Kayak Tours and Rentals on the Delaware River
Best Delaware River Kayaking
- Overview, Photo: BLphotoandvideo/stock.adobe.com
- Kayak Tours and Rentals on the Delaware River, Photo: Eleanor/stock.adobe.com
- More Kayak Tours and Rentals on the Delaware River, Photo: rip1967/stock.adobe.com
- Cover Photo: Courtesy of Mariya - Fotolia.com
More Ideas in NJ: Keansburg Amusement Park
The Keansburg Amusement Park and Runaway Rapids are located in Keansburg, New Jersey, along the shore of Sandy Hook Bay. The park, which has been open since 1904, offers family friendly entertainment between Memorial Day weekend and mid-September each year. Rides at the park include classics for kids such as the Antique Cars ride, boats and motorcycles, a balloon Ferris wheel, merry-go-round, carousel and miniature train.
The Kiddie Pedal Cars and Airplane Ride have been operating since 1930, making them the oldest rides in the park. Rides for older children include bumper cars, the swing ride and a log flume ride. The park also offers a climbing wall and haunted house, the Hollwgraves Haunted Manor. The haunted house opened in 1995 as a Halloween attraction, and was moved to Keansburg Amusement Park in 2012. The family-friendly attraction includes animatronic ghosts as well as live actors.
The park offers three large arcades and several classic midway games, including Bob’s Fishing Game and the Duck Pond, Balloon Darts, and Water Gun Races. The classic High Striker, is a ring-the-bell-with-a-sledgehammer test of strength. Two different go-kart tracks include the Grand Prix and the Short Track. Riders can book single or double go-karts. Additional activities include fishing at the Keansburg Pier; there is free access to the Keansburg beaches at the park’s edge.
Among the more thrilling rides at Keansburg is the Cliffhanger, in which three guests at a time lay belly down on a swing and get sent air bound on the high speed swing. Chaos is a spinning disc that lifts to a 45-degree angle, with guests strapped into outward facing two-seater bucket seats. Double Shot is a tower ride that blasts guests 10 stories up into the air, and repeatedly drops them back down to earth. The Looping Star is the park’s newest attraction. The mid-sized roller coaster takes thrill-seeking guests on a 360 degree inverted loop.
Runaway Rapids is the park’s water park attraction. Over nineteen water slides and attractions include a Toddler’s Reef and Frog Slide for younger visitors, water soaked playscapes and gentle slides, as well as a rope swing. Soaring Thunder, Volcanic Revenge, and the Mega Bunga Falls offer larger, faster rides into the splash pool. Tube rides include the thrilling Mountain Blast and the slow floating Castaways Creek.
History: Keansburg Amusement Park was founded by William Gehlhaus in 1904. Gehlhaus was a baker with no experience in real estate investment, yet convinced five others to partner with him to purchase the Oceanside property with the intent to build a summer resort. The ambitious project required filling in the seaside marshland with sand from the bay, something that had never before been done. A boardwalk and bungalows were built, as well as a bank and water company. In 1910, Gehlhaus founded the Keansburg Steamboat Company to bring New Yorker’s to the park from across the bay. With a new market now open, the park added a dancehall, new attractions and a hotel. The borough of Keansburg was established in 1917, having grown entirely from Gehlhaus’ vision.
Gehlhaus sold the park in 1972 following concerns about his health. The family was devastated, but always remained closely involved in the park’s operations. In 1995, William Gehlhaus’ grandsons seized an opportunity to purchase the park and ushered in a new era. Under new ownership, the Runaway Rapids was quickly built, and opened just one year later in 1996. The park suffered severe damage from 2012’s Hurricane Sandy, but rebuilt and re-opened in 2013. Pieces of the original rides from the 1930’s and 1950’s had been scattered as far away as neighboring towns, but all was recovered and painstakingly rebuilt. The Gehlhaus family looks forward to keeping the park in the family for many generations to come, with the youngest generation already eager to take the reins.
Ongoing Programs and Education: Among the park’s annual events are Mermaids at Runaway Rapids. Held on Sundays and Mondays throughout the summer, live mermaids swim at the park. Bark in the Waterpark is an annual fundraiser for the local Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals. Participants may bring their dog to the water park on the final weekend before the park closes for the season, all proceeds benefit the Monmouth County SPCA. The park celebrates its anniversary each August with discounts, giveaways and contests throughout the day.
275 Beachway Avenue, Keansburg, NJ 07734, Phone: 732-495-1400
You are reading "Best Delaware River Kayaking " Back to Top
More Ideas in NJ: Sterling Hill Mine Tour & Museum of Fluorescence
A former iron and zinc mine known as the Sterling Hill Mine, the Sterling Hill Mine Tour & Museum of Fluorescence is dedicated to showcasing the diverse variety of minerals, with a particular focus on the fluorescent types. Situated in Ogdensburg in Sussex County, New Jersey, the Sterling Hill Mine Museum is near the Franklin Mine, which is renowned for mineral mining and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
The site of the Museum became a mine when it was mistakenly thought to be a copper deposit in the 1630s. After changing hands several times over the next couple of centuries, the mine was closed in 1986 and foreclosed to due to tax issues. It was sold to Richard and Robert Hauck in 1989 and opened to the public as a museum in 1990.
The Sterling Hill Mine features ore bodies that lie within a formation known as the Reading Prong Massif and which are contained the Franklin Marble, which was deposited as limestone in an old Precambrian oceanic rift trough. The underground fracture underwent extensive changes over a time span of around 1.15 billion years ago, exposing the ore bodies at the surface and leaving the glaciers of Pleistocene strewn with ore-bearing boulders. The giant rocks are known to have more than 350 types of minerals, with 91 of them being fluoresced and 35 being endemic to the region and found nowhere else in the world.
The Sterling Hill Mine features more than 35 miles of tunnels that delve 2,065 feet below on the main shaft and a further 2,675 feet on the lower shaft. The mine maintains a constant air temperature of 56 °F throughout the day and night and is home to the Thomas S. Warren Museum of Fluorescence, the Ellis Astronomical Observatory, and a unique collection of mining equipment.
The Sterling Hill Mine offers exclusive mine tours that explore the mine under the expert guidance of knowledgeable staff and geology experts. The tour includes a 30-minute visit to the Zobel Exhibit Hall, which is home to a wealth of fossils, mineralogical samples, mining memorabilia, and meteorites, followed by a 1,300 feet walk on the level ground into the mine through an underground passage that passes through the Rainbow Tunnel. The Rainbow Tunnel is a 240-foot section of the underground passage that was blasted out using 49 dynamite blasts in 1990 and ends in the Rainbow Room, which demonstrates the building of the tunnel and the samples of fluorescence found in it using short wave UV lights.
The Zobel Exhibit Hall features more than 12,000 items on display, ranging from fossils and ore specimens to fluorescent mineral and copper, silver and gold presentations. The Oreck Mineral Gallery is housed in the main exhibit hall and houses hundreds of inspired mineral specimens in fiber-optic lighting glass display cases. Special exhibits include displays of copper, calcite, fluorite, barite and quartz, pegmatite minerals, and the minerals of Africa, China, and Russia.
The Periodic Table Display is a new 10-foot representation of the Periodic Table of the Elements, with 112 cubbyholes housing an example of the elements, and an item made from that element, such as a chunk of gold! The Fluorescent Mineral Display is set in a small room in the corner of the Zobel Exhibit Hall and features a seven-foot display of the minerals extracted from the Sterling Hill and Franklin zinc mines. This room offers visitors the opportunity to minerals glowing brilliantly in the dark in vibrant colors. The Precious Metals Display houses a collection of gold items from around the world, ranging from crystals and nuggets to sheets, and wires. The exhibit also displays ‘fool’s gold’ and specimens of native copper and silver.
Other exhibits in the museum include various kinds of ore specimens, fossils, and mining equipment such as compressors, dynamite detonators, jaw crushers, rock drills, and ore cars. The display on mining equipment also showcases the evolution of mining and the equipment that was used in the past such as oil lamps, candle picks, carbide lamps, and electric cap lamps.
The Edison Exhibition highlights Thomas Edison’s involvement in the mining industry between 1890 and 1900 and displays several items invented by Edison that was used in a large iron mining operation outside New Jersey. Articles and specimens displayed include telephones, phonographs, batteries, light bulbs, and miners' electric cap lamps, as well as specimens of iron ore, and photographs of his fully operating iron mining works.
The Fossil Exhibit features petrified wood, dinosaur bones, dinosaur eggs, stone embedded with dinosaur footprints and a full-size replica Tyrannosaurus Rex skull. The Meteorites exhibit showcases pieces of land from Mars and the Moon, irons, pallasites, stones, impact breccias, and blobs of glass tektites.
The Zobel Exhibit Hall is also home to a variety of artworks, paintings, and sculptures with a mining theme, including two beautiful European 19-century mine models, several oil paintings, and a collection of sculptures of miners at work in brass and bronze.
Founded in 1999, the Thomas S. Warren Museum of Fluorescence was established to reveal the beauty and utility and share the wonders of wonders of fluorescence and other minerals, as well as to serve as an educational facility for educators of science and technology. Occupying several rooms in Sterling Hill Mine’s 1916 ore mill, the Warren Museum offers permanent and rotating exhibits and displays, lectures, classes and workshops on the subject, as well as displays more than 700 mineral-related objects that highlight the diversity of fluorescence. The Museum also presents a range of traditional ultraviolet lamps and an outstanding reference collection and developing research library of fluorescent minerals.
The Sterling Hill Mine Tour & Museum of Fluorescence is located at 30 Plant Street in Ogdensburg and is open to the public for group tours every day at 10:00 am and 1:00 pm. The Rock Discovery Center is a large outdoor area at the Museum that offers a fantastic introduction to earth science where young visitors learn about the various rock types that are mined and quarried in the northeastern America. The Rock Discovery Center is open on Saturdays and Sundays at 12:00 pm, April through November.
Back to: Best Things to do in New Jersey
30 Plant St, Ogdensburg, NJ 07439, Phone: 973-209-7212
You are reading "Best Delaware River Kayaking " Back to Top
More Ideas in NJ: Battleship New Jersey Museum and Memorial in Camden
The Battleship New Jersey Museum and Memorial is a museum dedicated to the most decorated battleship in U.S. Naval history – the USS New Jersey (BB-62). One of the largest battleships ever built, USS New Jersey (BB-62) is an Iowa-class battleship that was launched in 1942 just after the attack on Pearl Harbor and went onto to have a distinguished and decorated career. Today, the magnificent warship is docked on the Camden Waterfront and is open to the public as museum and memorial, which can be enjoyed on daily guided tours, overnight encampments, group packages and more.
Built by the Philadelphia Naval Shipyard and launched in December 1942, just after the attack on Pearl Harbor, USS New Jersey (BB-62) entered the Second World War and headed to the Marshall Islands where she began her distinguished career. After World War II, the New Jersey (BB-62) also played a vital role in the Vietnam War, the war in Lebanon in the early 1980s and the Middle East conflicts after that.
USS New Jersey (BB-62) earned an array of commendations and decorations during her service, including the Navy Unit Commendation for her service in Vietnam, nine battle stars for World War II; four for the Korean conflict; two for Vietnam, and three Campaign Stars for her service off Beirut, Lebanon and in the Persian Gulf, prior to Operation Desert Storm. Boasting a total of 19 Battle and Campaign Stars for her outstanding service, USS New Jersey (BB-62) is the most decorated battleship and a surviving warship in America’s Naval history.
USS New Jersey (BB-62) was decommissioned in 1991 in Long Beach, California and later towed to Bremerton in Washington and then onto her permanent home on the Camden Waterfront in New Jersey, where she resides today. The battleship was restored to her former glory and opened as a museum and memorial to the brave men and women who served on her during her long and illustrious career in 2001.
The Battleship New Jersey Museum and Memorial offers a variety of educational programs and workshops for children of all ages from kindergarten to college. The Battleship New Jersey’s Education Outreach Program offers students the opportunity to enjoy hands-on activities, study artifacts and explore primary source documents, as well as enjoy national and state curriculum-based classes on board the ship.
A 90-minute Assembly Program allows students to relive history through an oral exercise with a veteran of America’s military forces, as well as dress in navy uniform. Students learn about the rich history of the battleship and the men and women who served on her, as well as see video clips of the battleship’s mighty 16? guns in action. Other educational programs include Distance Learning Programs and Trunk Traveling Programs and Overnight Stays on the ship, which includes a ‘chow line’ dinner, guided tours of the different sections of the ship by knowledgeable staff, and sleeping on bunk beds like the sailors.
The Battleship New Jersey Museum and Memorial is located at 62 Battleship Place in Camden, New Jersey and is open to the public from 9:30 am to 5:00 pm daily. Guided tours the USS New Jersey (BB-62) are led by expertly trained tour guides and available for groups of all sizes and ages. Tours feature an up-close-and-personal look into the behind-the-scenes operation of such as a battleship, including visits to the command and control centers, the living quarters, the weapon systems and the on-board exhibits in the museum. The ship’s store sells a variety of battleship- related goods and items, such as clothing, books, toys, and gifts.
Local 62 Battleship Place, Camden, NJ 08103, Phone: 856-966-1652
Back to: NJ Things to Do
You are reading "Best Delaware River Kayaking " Back to Top